Please Note: As of Sept. 1, 2013, the laws affecting CHL classroom requirements and renewal have been posted by DPS.
The new applicants classroom times are a minimum of 4 hours, maximum of 6 hours. With the volume of material that needs to be covered for your training our goal is not to rush through vital information regarding carrying of a handgun. We believe students should be well informed and understand the law.
The range time is not part of the 4 to 6 hour classroom time.
Renewals are not required to take the class or the shooting proficiency portion. NOTE: You have to send in the bar code that is given to you after you pay online. DPS will not start your renewal process until they get the bar code paper. If you have any question, please give us a call. 979-776-8727 or 777-4345.
The grace period after the license expires is still 364 days. When DPS releases information on the exact details of the new policy, we will post immediately. Renewals that wish to take a "refresher" course will be the same as the new class.
Our class is a one day class, with lunch, refreshments, and coffee and tea provided.
Thank you for choosing Schiller Arms to meet your CHL training needs. We are located in Bryan-College Station and serve Central Texas in providing information and training to obtain a concealed handgun license. The course covers classroom instruction on gun storage and child safety, and Texas laws regarding use of force, deadly force, conflict dispute resolution and licensing requirements.
Loaner guns are available at no charge.
We offer a Basic 101 Marksmanship Course and it is done by appointment only. The cost is $35 and takes about one hour per student. Students are to bring their own ammo. This course teaches gun safety, gun handling and marksmanship plus prepares the student for the CHL range qualifications. Call 979-777-4345 for an appointment.
We provide homemade breakfast pastries and lunch, plus coffee and tea for our CHL classes.
Class and/or course Costs:
$60 Initial or renewal Class$35 Basic Marksmanship Course
State of Texas Licensing Fees for new license
$140 No special conditions
$70 Senior Citizens (60 or older)
$70 Veterans over one year of discharge
$0 Active military or less than one year of discharge
Photos are no longer needed since DPS uses your Texas ID/DL for your chl photo
Effective March 1, 2011, all fingerprinting has to be done by L 1 Enrollment. Law enforcement and instructors are no longer allowed to take fingerprints.
Their fee is $9.95. click here for L 1 Enrollment website
- Classroom Instructions
- Range Instructions
- Range Fee
What do I bring?
1) ID/Driver's License.
2) Payment of $60 for a new class- check or cash.
3) 50 rounds of ammo.
4) Any water or snacks for the range time.
5) Weather appropriate clothing - high neck shirts and baseball can help reduce hot brass burns.
6) Weapon you intend to use at the range (or let us know you'll use a loaner. We have plenty.)
7) Take the provided MAP for you from the classroom, or at least this one to get you back to the classroom again!
How do I sign up?
Please send the following information to: firstname.lastname@example.org
First Name, Middle Initial, Last Name, Suffix (if applicable)
City, State Zip
Home Phone Number
Alternate Phone Number (extension if necessary)
Year of Birth
Desired Class Date
Also include any additional information that you feel may make the class more enjoyable or beneficial: National Champ in pistol shooting, medical conditions, etc. This will be kept strictly confidential, unless needed for medical emergency.
Note: This email is not sent over a secure connection!